Misdemeanor Charges in Northern Virginia
It's tempting to think of a misdemeanor charge as an embarrassing inconvenience. First offenders especially might be inclined to simply plead guilty to a judge and hope for a sentence of either time served, community service, or a fine. And that's it.
Not so fast. A guilty plea to a misdemeanor can carry a jail sentence of up to 12 months. Even if the judge does not impose an active jail sentence, a misdemeanor plea results in a criminal conviction, which means you now have a criminal record. A later arrest for the same charge or any other offense is likely to be punished much more severely, and in some circumstances could be handled as a felony. Certain misdemeanors can also interfere with educational, professional or security clearance opportunities. Think about getting some legal advice about that misdemeanor plea and what it means for your future.
Discuss Your Case With a Lawyer — Call 703-763-0979
Contact the Sprano Law Firm in Fairfax for a free consultation about the specific charges you're facing, your potential and practical exposure to punishment, the continuing consequences of the charge on your record, and your best options for beating the case or negotiating a better plea. We offer free consultations, and we can tell you about your best alternatives for improving the result.
Our attorneys advise clients about the immediate and long-range consequences of a particular misdemeanor charge. Then we show people the most productive approach to take based on the specifics of the situation. We work with adults, juveniles, licensed professionals, college students, foreign nationals and anyone else who stands to benefit from better choices than the prosecutor's first plea offer.
We handle a wide range of Virginia misdemeanor charges:
- Drunk driving
- Underage possession of alcohol
- Possession of a fake ID
- Simple assault, including domestic violence situations
- Citations for disorderly conduct, disturbing the peace or being drunk in public
- Obstruction of justice
- Misdemeanor marijuana charges, especially those involving marijuana
- Trespass, shoplifting under $200, and other property crimes
- Reckless Driving, Driving on a Suspended License, DUI
- Child abuse or neglect without serious injury
Most of the listed offenses are Class 1 misdemeanors punishable by up to 12 months of jail, a $2,500 fine or both. The upper end of this range is generally reserved for repeat offenders.
The chance to plead to a misdemeanor can represent a good result for someone originally charged with a felony. If a misdemeanor represents the most serious charge you're facing, however, it makes sense to find out if there is any possibility of having the charged dismissed, being foung not guilty, or at least being assured of avoiding jail time. To find out more about your options, contact the Sprano Law Firm in Fairfax for a free consultation.